the Carmel

Duration:

A few documents kept that allow us to follow the preparations for the trip from afar.

VSee here an interesting contemporary archival film made by the Lumière brothers. La Ciotat station is near Marseille (on the return trip).

First travel advisory

Second travel advisory

Third opinion and schedules

Last notice /list of cities

Train timetables

Date in 1887The startCheckinACCOMMODATIONvarious visits
Friday November 4 Lisieux 3hParis 8 am? Hotel le Bouloi 
Saturday November 5
Sunday November 6Mulhouse & Champagne
monday 7 novemberParis 6:35 a.m.Lucerne 24h30 Hotel du Lac
Tuesday, November 8 Lucerne 8hMilano 18 p.m. Hôtel Central
Wednesday November 9 Milano 15 p.m. Venice 22 p.m. Hotel La Luna
Thursday November 10
Friday November 11Venice 9 p.m.Bologna 17:52 p.m.Hotel dei Tre Reexcursion to Padua 10am-15pm 
Saturday November 12Bologna 11am Lorette 17 p.m. Hotel Marinelli?
Sunday November 13 Lorette - afternoon Rome 20 p.m. Southern Hotel
monday november 14
tuesday november 15
Wednesday November 16
Thursday November 17
 Friday November 18
Saturday November 19
Sunday November 20
monday november 21 Rome 6 p.m. Naples uncertain hour Hôtel Métropoleexcursion to Pompeii from 13 p.m. to 15 p.m.
tuesday november 22 Naples - evening Rome 24 p.m. Southern Hotel
Wednesday November 23
Thursday November 24 Rome 6 p.m. Florence 21:45 p.m. Porta Rossa Hotel
Friday November 25
Saturday November 26Firenze 14 p.m. Pisa 16:30 p.m. Hotel de la Minerve
Sunday November 27 Pisa - afternoonGenoa - evening Hotel Isotta
monday 28 novemberGenoa - noonNice 18 p.m. Hotel Beau Rivage
tuesday november 29 Nice 7 p.m. Marseilles - afternoonHôtel Belle-Vue or Grand Hôtel de Marseille
Wednesday November 30 Marseilles 6h Lyon - late afternoonHotel Continental Collet
Thursday, December 1 Lyons 10:30 a.m.
Friday 2 DecemberParis 1 hour
    " " " Paris 11:45 a.m.Lisieux 16:30 p.m.